SXSW Portait Session w/Doa

Recently during SXSW I met up with my good friends Steve Wampler and Alex Suarez for a mini photowalk model shoot with the amazing Doa!  Doa was awesome!!!  We had a great time at lunch this day and walked around to various locations and grabbed many shots while fighting the crowds.  I was shooting standard pics and also some in Infrared.  I’ll post those IR portraits one day soon….very cool!!

In my desire to become a portrait photographer…shoots like this are such a great experience.  I just need more experience working with the subjects.   That will come in time.  So I think about my future plans and over the last few years I have added a few shooting styles to my abilities..HDR, IR, Texturing, etc…   To really excel in portraiture you need to stand out.  Most everyone can take a portrait shot that is decent.  But you need that extra kick to have people want you to photograph them.  So I am working on incorporating all my past skills into such pics.

The above shot is just basic Photoshop and layers.  Took about 10 minutes!  A cool and different look!   To use the old saying  …why be ordinary? …be extraordinary!!   Have fun!  The original shot is below…