SXSW Portait Session w/Doa

Recently during SXSW I met up with my good friends Steve Wampler and Alex Suarez for a mini photowalk model shoot with the amazing Doa!  Doa was awesome!!!  We had a great time at lunch this day and walked around to various locations and grabbed many shots while fighting the crowds.  I was shooting standard pics and also some in Infrared.  I’ll post those IR portraits one day soon….very cool!!

In my desire to become a portrait photographer…shoots like this are such a great experience.  I just need more experience working with the subjects.   That will come in time.  So I think about my future plans and over the last few years I have added a few shooting styles to my abilities..HDR, IR, Texturing, etc…   To really excel in portraiture you need to stand out.  Most everyone can take a portrait shot that is decent.  But you need that extra kick to have people want you to photograph them.  So I am working on incorporating all my past skills into such pics.

The above shot is just basic Photoshop and layers.  Took about 10 minutes!  A cool and different look!   To use the old saying  …why be ordinary? …be extraordinary!!   Have fun!  The original shot is below…

2 comments on “SXSW Portait Session w/Doa

  1. No, no, no…you have to tell the clients it took hours of your time and specialized hardware and software to pull it off. J?K. Has Doa seen it yet? I’d be interested in her reaction.

    • Scott, hello! Thanks for visiting the new blog! Doa has not seen it yet…she will soon. I sent a copy out yesterday via email. Specialized work always costs more! No matter how much time is put in! =)))

Leave a Reply

